Blogging from 34,001 Feet Over the Pacific

June 26, 2006 at 12:52 pm Leave a comment

Returning from a very enjoyable yet tiring trip to South Korea (congrats to my cousin on getting married) I'm able to access the internet thanks to Connexion by Boeing

Here are a couple of highlights of the service:

  • On a 10 hour flight in coach in the window seat, wireless internet access is a saving grace (note power outlets are available below the seat).
  • At $26.95 for unlimited access, it is a steal ($2.69 per hour).
  • Using Speakeasy's Speed Test, I found the connection speed to come in at 141kb download and 38kb upload (2nd test 216/46).
  • Service overall is reliable, though I have experienced a couple of complete outages (less the 5 minutes for any given outage).  These complete outages occured probably once every two hours for me.
  • MSN Messenger works well, with the ocassional couple seconds of lag time.
  • Interestingly I ran a couple of tests with Skype and it works (not great though). 
    • There is a lot of background white noise, which makes you have to speak a little louder.  The people around me didn't seem to mind, but longer term as more people try this, I can see it being an issue.
    • I compare the quality to the VoiceSteam (now called T-Mobile).  You can talk to someone through the service, but it a toss-up on the quality.
    • I found that longer the conversation went the better the quality of the call.  I think this might have to Skype's technology more then Connexion.

Overall at $26.95 (unlimited access), I would highly recommend this service to anyone with a laptop and a flight greater then 3 hours.

On a side note, Om Malik recently posted about financial issues around Connexion.  I'd love to see someone pick this company up on the cheap and build the service.

Entry filed under: Airlines, Best Practices, Uncategorized.

Northwest Airlines Subscribes to Wisdom of Crowds Farecast.com Public Beta Launch Today!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Notes

The comments expressed here on eccoBay are my own and do not necessarily reflect the opinions or beliefs of my employer.

Feeds




Subscribe in Bloglines
Subscribe in NewsGator Online
Subscribe in Rojo

